2wd to 4x4 SAS 1986 Toyota Chinook camper build (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
2x4 to 4x4 SAS 1984 Toyota Chinook camper build

Well I am not sure if it is a Chinook as I have only seen one other camper like mine but in the 1970's similar versions they were called Chinook campers but it is close so that is what I will call it. As far as I know this one is pretty rare.

I have been driving it around with no third gear for about 2 years now and it is not ideal. I plan on towing some small trailers, boats, rafts with it this summer so I will need that third gear for big hills.

I picked up some parts this winter for the swap. I got a great deal on a used 5 speed with transfer case, complete rear axle from a 1989-1995 pickup with 4.10 gears, and I also have a landcruiser FJ-60 front axle and springs to put under the front.

I am not going to use the old axle as it is a 5 lug rims (I really hate 5 lug rims, it is a toyota thing as I am sure you all know), and probably has 3.73 gears because of the smaller tires on it. It is also narrower and I look forward to getting this setup a little wider, especially when it gains a little lift. I think it is also sprung under at the moment, but I will have to double check. I am not sure if I will go spring over or under with the back, just depends on how the front ends up, and how much lift I need to level it all out.

I am not looking for a lot of lift just enough to make it a little more truck like, probably 235/75/15 tires, because I have a lot of those.

As far as I can tell my front LC axle and new rear pickup axle will be about the same width. I was also going to use the stock FJ60 springs sprung under and try to reuse the steering links from it too.