1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

12 V power outlet

Discussion in '80-Series Tech' started by landtoy80, Aug 9, 2003.

  1. landtoy80

    landtoy80

    Messages:
    5,668
    Likes Received:
    240
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Location:
    North Front Range, CO
    I am going to wire into the power seat and install a 12V outlet. Will I need to add a fuse or will the fuse for the power seat work?
    kurt
     
  2. SeanAndHis80

    SeanAndHis80

    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    Chester, NH
    If you are wiring into the power seat circuit your electrical device will be protected up to the amperage of the circuit that the power seats are on. ...sorry no manual at hand to tell you what that circuit is rated at. An extra fuse of lower amperage would protect your electrical device more than the circuit would by it's existing fuse.

    When I do this mod, I will run a new wire from the fusebox, or even the battery to the outlet. Max amperage can only be achieved this way.
     
  3. Gumby

    Gumby Supamod Staff Member s-Moderator

    Messages:
    11,778
    Likes Received:
    307
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Location:
    Knee deep in hookers and gin
    The seats have a pretty high amp fuse. I run my inverter off of that power source all of the time and it holds up very well. In fact, it was the inverter that made me install the outlets there. It would blow the lighter fuse.
     
  4. landtoy80

    landtoy80

    Messages:
    5,668
    Likes Received:
    240
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Location:
    North Front Range, CO
    I will plug in the laptop and the aircompressor (not at same time)into that outlet.
    kurt
     
  5. CruisinGA

    CruisinGA

    Messages:
    6,163
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Georgia Tech
    Depending on the air compressor I would just get some battery clips and clip it directly to the battery when you need to inflate the tires. No risk of burning any wires, or blowing any fuses.
     
  6. landtoy80

    landtoy80

    Messages:
    5,668
    Likes Received:
    240
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Location:
    North Front Range, CO
    I have a set of those. I will see if I can reach around to all tires with the compressor. Great idea, thanks ;)
    kurt