Porch Transfer Case Rebuild (Lotso Pics) (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Website
kartchcustoms.com
Well, here's the writeup I promised in this thread..........

https://forum.ih8mud.com/showthread.php?t=82361

The title says "Porch rebuild" and that's exactly what this write-up is. I'm currently waiting for our new home to be built and have almost all of my tools and such stored away right now. I couldn't wait and decided it would be "interesting" to see how I could do the job without impact wrenches, a full set of tools, a shop, etc. Well, I did it and came up with a few tricks in the process that could be of use.

Ok, the normal disclaimer crap.... I'm not a mechanic, i usually don't rebuild stuff on a porch, my methods may not be perfect, this stuff is heavy and can kill you, etc, etc, etc. Don't try this at home. Wait, I guess thats the point! :D

The transfer case in the 79 FJ40 I bought was in really bad shape. When I pulled the cone shaped cover off I was greeted by metal sludge with all sorts and sized of metal pieces. I found a fairly low mileage tcase and decided to only go through this once so I ordered a rebuild kit from Manafre.

As far as the kit goes, I have to say it is very complete (with one exception). I has all the gaskets, o-rings, bearings, etc. to do a complete rebuild. There are no directions however so you are on your own in that department. When I say with one exception, what I'm refering to is that the kit does not contain a shim kit which you may or may not need to complete the job corectly.

This write up will be quite picture heavy so dialup people will hate it. People who have done a bunch of rebuilds will think it rediculous but I hope it will help first timers out.

Well, here goes!

Tool List