Tutorial: HID conversion, bling headlights (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
So I have always wanted to have a vehicle that has good lighting but all the vehicles that have cool lights are too modern (which equals too plastic) so they are a waste of money. Being a photographer I am very anal about light so I decided to make a change. I bought a pair of ballasts, bulbs and projector lenses even before I had the cruiser.

Here are some basics.

The purpose of all headlights is to give you a good view of what's in front, yet not blind oncoming traffic. Therefore all headlights have such a construction that creates a cutoff, a sharp border between light and darkness.

The oldest type of headlights are the ones we have (you have:flipoff2:). These are reflectors created before computers were powerful and therefore they need a ribbed headlight lens to try to direct light. I say 'try' because if you point your truck at a wall you see just two blobs of light without any defined pattern or form.

With the advent of computer design, FF (free form) headlights were designed. They also use a 'conventional' reflector. The reflector is not round but it consists of lots of small squares. Each of these squares has a different angle and throws light onto a different part of the road. These lights are like a puzzle. Every square has a corresponding area on the road, and all these squares create a puzzle which ends up as a continuous light beam, with clearly defined cutoff (but not as good as it gets).

Projector lenses (the ones with the round loupe in front) are a bit different. Light is projected onto the glass lens but before it reaches it, it's cut in half by a metal curtain. This metal curtain defines the cutoff. This type of lights has the biggest efficiency and the best light pattern.

What you shouldn't do.