HJ47 Rebuild (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Website
www.facebook.com
Ok, so I'm totally new to iH8MUD. I drove my TLC from Arizona to Alaska. Imagine my astonishment when I discovered that there are no parts for an Diesel Aussie HJ47 in Alaska. I decided to rebuild it and have been stripping it down. I'm now down to the chassis. I went to the store and bought PRO and want to make sure from the experts that I'm not missing any steps before I encase this baby.

I scraped all the 30+ years of crud off. Then, wire brushed the entire thing, de-greased it, pressure-washed it, sand-blasted it, and ready to coat it.

Do I need to adhere any primer or can I just do the POR? Also, how do I get the POR inside the frame? Or is it even necessary?
1.jpg
5.jpg
9.jpg

I already filled up my allotment of space with those three pictures. I can't show the bare chassis yet.

I am planning on switching the diesel to petrol. I can't run reliably on this mechanical diesel in Alaska. Any suggestions on what would be a good engine for the HJ? Also, am I going to have to change gears for the conversion?

I think most guys use por's metal prep then POR the frame. I'd run your question across a few guys that have done some restoration work though.
Unfortunaltely there aren't too many diesels around these parts, but it sure would be a shame to get rid that diesel. The good news is that a number of guys would be VERY willing to swap their entire gasser drivetrain with yours. Good luck, and great looking rig!

TK

I was amazed when Zack posted on our local page that he was starting this project. His rig was/is one of the nicest I have seen in a long time.

Personally I don't agree that you can not reliably run a mechanically injected diesel here. I love my old 6.2s It can be hard/slow to source parts for Toyota diesels here however.