87 FJ60 rough running, bucking at mid RPM'S (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
My truck has been running perfectly for the past few years. On the way home last night I took a turn which required a down shift into second. When throttling back up the truck bogged down around 1200 rpm. Feathering allowed the rpm's to climb, but not under load. I have checked the air filter and intake- it idles better when the intake is blocked off which makes me think it is a vacuum issue.
I had to leave for work, but plan on picking up new hose on the way home to begin troubleshooting.
Any thoughts on what else could be causing such a sudden issue? The fuel system seems to be fine, I think air is the problem.
Thanks

hey guys newbie here- first cruiser, 1985 w/ 140K miles and I've had her for one week and 1K miles, trouble free. I have the same problem, low speed in second gear my cruiser will buck and lurch forward until the speed picks up.. other than that it idles fine, runs fine. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Cheers-

Check for vacuum leaks and make sure your manifold bolts are tight to the head. A couple of first things to check.

hey guys newbie here- first cruiser, 1985 w/ 140K miles and I've had her for one week and 1K miles, trouble free. I have the same problem, low speed in second gear my cruiser will buck and lurch forward until the speed picks up.. other than that it idles fine, runs fine. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Cheers-

I had this issue and it was the EGR opening when it shouldn't. I had a little over 16 inches of Hg on the vac gauge which seemed normal from what I could tell so I was confident I didn't have a vac leak. My fix was by elimination. I eliminated the EGR system and it fixed it. If you cannot do that, download the FSM and go through the checks. It won't take long to do, it's a fairly simple system.

Frank