FJ60 "Classic Stumbling Issue" - EGR Valve? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
After some other posts regarding the classic FJ60 stumbling issue that is referenced on this forum - https://forum.ih8mud.com/60-series-...-hesitating-acceleration-running-problem.html, I pulled out my EGR valve today to clean it out and inspect it. After the very slow removal (tight area) I looked it over and cleaned it out with some spray. I am no mechanic (but play one on my landcruiser) and the valve seemed to be working fine when some vacum was applied, the diaphram seems to be working properfly and the "pin"? insides moves up and down freely with vacum.

Some background - I corrected to stumbling issue by unhooking the 2 hoses that come from the EGR, plugged them with golf tees (as recommended) and the issue was "fixed" no more stumbling issues. That is why I pulled out the EGR to see if that is the issue.

I put it all back together and hooked connected all vacum hoses as they should be. THE ISSUE RETURNED. Unhooked the 2 hoses from the EGR, plugged them and I'm running good again (except I know golf tees are not a good long term fix).

My question for anyone with experience chasing this issue down - Even though the EGR looked good, could it be bad still? Or is the EGR MOD my new suspect since the hoses that are plugged normally run to the MOD?

Thanks for the help in advance. You guys have been great in helping me run this down. I was laughing today thinking about how much I am able to do on my cruiser with no skills, just lots of reading on this forum. This addiction is great.

I am in the same boat as you- have the classic stumble and not yet found a fix- I learned never to travel with a full cup of coffee :)

My suggestion would be start with a professional carb rebuild with someone like Jim C if you have the original Aisin carb.