Creative engine block heater idea (for cold climates) (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

cbmontgo

SILVER Star
Threads
Has anyone ever used a light bulb to heat their engine block overnight in a cold climate? I am a pilot and have noticed people doing this with piston airplane engines up here in Colorado for years when the hangar has no heat. A light bulb under the engine cowling can provide enough heat the keep the oil at a safe engine starting temp.

I am thinking about doing this with my cars when/if they sleep outside of the garage on winter nights. Anyone ever tried this before? It sure seems logical, although the neighbors might think E.T. lives under your hood at night...

Being that a block heater is at least 400 watts... and it is all going towards heat and not any being wasted on light... I doubt it.

I have seen ice form on 100 watt bulbs as warm as 10 degrees above in Vermont.

My 80 never had problems down to -30 so far...

Being that a block heater is at least 400 watts... and it is all going towards heat and not any being wasted on light... I doubt it.

I have seen ice form on 100 watt bulbs as warm as 10 degrees above in Vermont.

My 80 never had problems down to -30 so far...

That does make sense.

My vehicles have no problems at all starting in cold temps, but I just know that the cylinders are in living hell for about 30 seconds before the oil circulates and lubes 'em up. I would just like to reduce that wear and tear on the engine, and I think most people don't realize the damage done during cold starts.

I may just give this light bulb heater a try and see what happens.

Maybe try one of these heaters (see link). Would 0W-30 Mobil 1 also help?

Edit: the link goes to the JC Whitney main page; once there search for oil heater, this type sticks to the bottom of the oil pan.

Products in Engine Heaters - JCWhitney

Last edited: