Daytime Running Lights - any options? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Does anybody KNOW what the current regulations are for DRL? I tried to make sense of the NTSB and Code of Fed Regulations and couldn't even find it. The service shops won't touch a DRL modification; it appears to be state-by-state based if I understand correctly.

As a nature photographer, I often idle in the dark to attract curious crittters (or to keep warm waiting for the winter sun to rise). DRL messes with that. I'm hoping I can insert a hard override switch on the FJC for those times and leave them alone the rest of the time (the H3 had an interesting feature - a temporary switch that killed the DRL until the engine was restarted).

Perhaps one of you electrical guys can give suggest a place to start?

There are some old TSBs out there on how to disable the DRLs - apparently, this was a big deal back in 2000 - but I didn't see anything specific to the FJC.

Then again, Fuse #13 (7.5A) is for the DRL system...

Drl

One way to temporaly disable the DRL is to slightly push the parking brake before starting the vehicle. It dosen't engage the brakes enough to put any wear on them.
Vern

I have the same problem would like to shut off daytime running lights. I also do a lot of wildlife videography.Sucks to have lights on. Pulling fuse doesnt work. Setting parking brake one clik still grabs brake slightly. Also I disconnected switch to brake pedal .worked but parking brake dummy light stays on. I dont know what to do now. I might have to live withthe dummy light

I feel your pain. I'm still optimistic that I can hardwire a disconnect switch. Some vehicles DRL are monitored/controlled by the ECU, in which case I'm also out of ideas (and desperately hoping when my FJ gets here, it doesn't work like that so a hardwire interrupt would work).