Home Forum Gallery Wiki CruiserFAQ Tech Links Product Reviews Trivia Store

IH8MUD™ Forums
Suppport our Advertising Vendors!!
Go Back   IH8MUD™ Forums > General Forums > Chit-Chat Section

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-08-08, 06:51 PM   #1
IH8MUD Rookie
 
Salvo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cochise County, AZ
Posts: 16
Too good to be true.

I've read this article several times and the price just doesn't make sense to me. I'm in no position to buy this vehicle, but hopefully one of you can benefit from this.

Cars For Sale: Car Details - AutoTrader.com


__________________
93 FZJ-80 214k, bone stock.
07 Taco DC 4x4
Looking for a 100
Salvo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-08, 07:00 PM   #2
IH8MUD Junior
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 75
yeah, something's up. I wouldn't even waste my time looking into it.


__________________
2003 UZJ100
dukerules is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-08, 07:26 PM   #3
IH8MUD No-Lifer
 
hoser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 3,745
Call these people to find out if/how their cruiser is for sale at $10k less than what they were originally asking.


__________________
98 LX470
85 BJ70
hoser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-08, 07:46 PM   #4
IH8MUD Lifer
 
Trunk Monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Salt Lake City
TLCA# 11251
Posts: 2,782
I was hoping the scams would stay on Ebay, but Autotrader's getting hit too. Friend of mine listed his built LX on Ebay, it didn't sell, it's on Autotrader now, Ebay description in the ad, for about $10k less.


__________________
Cory Fillmore
TLCA Western Individual Representative
99 UZJ
Trunk Monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-08, 08:24 PM   #5
IH8MUD Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 5
Salvo,

Dont waste your time with that seller, it is 100% a scam. They recently posted that in the So Cal autotrader and wanted to use the "Ebay Vehicle Protection Program" I corresponded with the seller through email and he didnt even want me to see the vehicle, Just wanted me to transfer him money. He sent me the exact same pictures. Stay away from that.
MC92MR2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-08, 08:11 PM   #6
IH8MUD Addict
 
offroadkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: El Dorado Hills, Ca.
TLCA# 12427
Posts: 599
These guys are getting crafty!! You can report it as fraud to Autotrader at the bottom of this article.

My Dad came across a screaming deal on Yahoo Autos, but sent it my way first. I "googled" some key words from the seller's reply, and found a warning from Yahoo about scams which showed the exact email the lady sent my Dad.

This kind of crap really sucks


__________________
Joshua

1998 UZJ100 Imp. Jade Mica/Gray 295 Nitto TG's

“Some dream in color, I dream in 4 wheel drive."


My Wife's AVM story



www.findchristiewilson.com
offroadkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:52 PM.


vBulletin® v3.7.3 ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0
©2000-2008 by IH8MUD™ - ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

Thanks to all those who have contributed!
One of the largest message boards on the web !




Free Myspace Layouts | Hotel Las Vegas | MPAA | Internet Advertising | Loans