FJ60 Transfer Case removal (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Good Morning,
I am new to IH8MUD and have just in the last year gone back to my first love of Land Cruisers. After initially owning a 1973 FJ55 several years ago I recently bought a 1984 FJ60 with an eye on rebuilding it. I am making good progress but have reached a point where it is time to rebuild my T-case. I have ordered a kit and found a competent mechanic to do the work but planned on taking the T-case out of the vehicle myself to save money. I have seen dicussions on both side of removing the t-case alone vs. removing the t-case and transmission together. Anyone offer advise about the positives and negatives?? Obviously it would save me a ton of time and energy to just remove the t-case as long as that would not lead to other problems. Thanks for any help and advise.

The transfer case does not come off as a unit, but must be disassembled to remove it from the transmission. there are several bolts inside the front half of the case that hold the case onto the transmission. You can disassemble the case with the transmission on the truck, but then I'm not sure what your mechanic is going to do. I would think it would be easier to drive your truck to your mechanic rather than remove the transmission and transfer case yourself and tote it to the mechanic.

You can download a copy of the chassis manual from this site. This will give you an idea what the task entails. Index of /Cruiser and M416 Manuals

if you are going to dismantle the case yourself, all the mechanic will have to do is change the bearings on the outputs shafts. seals are pretty easy to replace.

If you're going to go to the trouble of removing the T-case, then 90-95% of the work is done.