So what's wrong with the F engines (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Website
www.facebook.com
:idea:

Semi on-topic, this is my first time seriously browsing the 40-series board since I went to the Dark Side, and I have to ask: Why does everybody hate the F series motors these days? I'd take a strong 2F over anything Chebby any day.

Define "everybody". :)

Me too, and twice on Sunday.

Originally I was going to post this to another guy's thread but I decided that rather than do a hijack it would be better to post a new thread. Being a diesel guy who knows very much next nothing about gasser engines this is a question that has always floated on the edge of my browsing here. It seems that the trend among you folks is to either modify the F series to fiddle with the carb or to change out the carb entirely and go to a GM based TBI setup (Hereby marking the official end of gasser engine knowledge:eek:) Or swap out the F series to go with a Chevy small block. I have seen a few adventurous gassers guys going for upgrades to 3FE modern Toyota gassers and at least one who swapped out the 2F head for a 3FE (along with the appropriate piston and con rod swaps, block honing, head polishing etc). By far these guys are out on the edge. As such the question still remains what is exactly wrong with the F series engines 1F, 1.5F or 2F, that makes everyone want to either fiddle with or ditch them? BTW per my sig line, I get the swap out of the original to a more modern Toyota engine guys:grinpimp: :cheers: :popcorn:

I've had nothing but bad luck with my 2F... AFTER A REBUILD!

Jonny

my 2F has been going strong for the 5 years I have had it - couple valve adjustments was all

carburetors eventually need some fiddling, it's in the nature of that type of device - look at one